Home Products How-to Shopping Cart FAQ About Us Contact Us Affiliates

Follow FingerTech_Bots on Twitter
Find FingerTech Robotics on Facebook

Login Status  Login Status

Not logged in

» Login

Shopping cart  Shopping cart
0 Product(s) in cart
Total 0.00 CAD
» Checkout

Customer Map
Customer Map

Mailing List

Solution Graphics
0 Product(s) in cart |
Total 0.00 CAD |
The currency converter cannot be updated as the account support period is out of date.

Home » Categories » » All Products

 Checkout
FingerTech tinyESC v2 Reviews for the product - FingerTech tinyESC v2 (Back to product)
 
 
21 Product Reviews - Average rating 5 / 5 (Best Rated | Worst Rated | Most Recent | Oldest)

Click to review this product

Ultimate ESC for Insects!

- 03rd July 2018

I recently switched to the TinyESCs from the heavier Robot Power Scorpion minis. I was able to add much needed wheel guards with the weight savings and went undefeated to take 1st place at Clash of Bots 2018 with my Antweight Cherry Bomb. The TinyESC are smooth and super responsive. They are easy to install and calibrate. I'll be buying more for sure!

The only thing I haven't broken.

- 20th April 2018

Two years of competition in fairies and ants, and we've yet to manage to make one of these things fail. Amazing.

Best ESC on the market.

- 16th September 2016

Seriously. Your not going to find a smaller ESC for bots. Don't waste time, money or weight on anything else.

Easy To Use

- 08th August 2016

These work great with the silver spark motors. Had a driving robot in no time!

Calibrating the tinyESC for the Pixhawk Ch7 Switch

- 14th September 2015

A calibration tip for any maker trying to calibrate the tinyESC for use with a transmitter switch rather than a transmitter stick:

For my particular system, a Pixhawk controlled with the Mission Planner interface, I treated the extra motor I was controlling with the ESC as a servo. Instead of calibrating by moving the transmitter stick up and down, I changed the "off" value of the signal from 1100 to 1500 and back down to 1100.

A link for setting up the Ch7 switch on a Pixhawk: http://planner.ardupilot.com/wiki/common-camera-shutter-with-servo/

If using a switch rather than a stick, it is likely you can still calibrate within a program such as Mission Planner.


Best ESC on the market

- 24th February 2015

These are the smallest esc's I've ever worked with and they can take a beating. Just got second place with my fairy and antweight because of these. Decently price and great service/support.

An Antweight Game Changer

- 24th February 2015

Unbeatable for ease of use, reliability, size and weight. Incredibly easy to calibrate and diode protection means no more shorting out motor controllers by stupid mistakes. I use a pair of them in Satan's Segway; they nestle up quite nicely, wires and all into an unmodified 2" length of 1/2" NPT Pipe with a Silver Spark.

I have had some issues with self-calibrating during travel, but nothing during an actual match and FingerTech is quick to help with any problems you might have with them!


With you for life!

- 10th January 2014

I just wanted to post that I bought my first two tinyESCs years ago (like 2010) and they have been in a number of bots and are about the only thing that just keeps working! (I have burned through multiple other ESCs in that time!)
Keep up the good work FingerTech!


Tiny ESCs in a 6lber?!

- 22nd August 2013

At the 2013 PA Bot Blast I saw a pair of TinyESCs running a pair of Kitbots.com "1000 RPM motors" in a the 6 pound robot Precipitor. The wheel size was 1.5 inches and I think the battery was a 3 cell Lipo. While the robot didn't do any pushing, the controllers were still working through a full fight: http://youtu.be/J02_8R8-iGo

I would buy them if I build a beetle or ant. No question.


Great product

- 30th July 2012

I really like these speed controllers for both my 1 lb and 150 gram robots. They work great and they're really compact.

Perfect!

- 25th September 2011

I used the tinyESCs on my recent antweights and they worked flawlessly in both of my robots. I couldn't of asked for anything more out these guys. They are by far the smallest esc's you can get for your flea or ant weight. I am very happy with them and plan on using them on my next small robot!

Well thought out.

- 21st May 2011

When constructing my first ant I was left with the choice of hacking a larger speed control from another company apart and resoldering it or simply plugging in and soldering up the tinyESC. well the choice was obvious and today after a full competition and random off season shenanigans the tinyESC hasn't ever let me down finally someone released a speed control with auto-cutoff and overload protection!

The Perfect ESCs for 150g 'Bots

- 28th February 2010

The tinyESC is one of the best options for small bots. In the fairy weight class, having a compact and dense construction are essential to fitting the most power possible into such a small weight. The tinyESC is the most reliable speed controller I've found of such a small size and weight, and has been used successfully in both MH Robotics fairies.

In Mango Farmer (seen here- http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sUn1mdaxci8), with the tinyESCs, enough weight and space was saved compared to using a pair of old soz boards that there was enough space in the bot for a relatively massive 15 gram magnet, allowing it to easily dominate the competition in steel floored arenas.


15 wins, 0 losses using tinyESCs

- 15th February 2010

My antweight robot, Metroid, has been using tinyESCs since they have been available for sale. Metroid now has now fought in 15 matches and has never had an esc fail during combat.

Metroid is currently ranked #1 in the Robot Fighting League using FingerTech tinyESCs.

Here is a video of Metroid using tinyESCs: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wibs-vcFPqY


Work great in Beetleweights too!

- 15th February 2010

I now have these tinyESCs in three of my robots, and they are all working great! I've used small speed controllers from other manufacturers, but the FingerTech tinyESCs have been the most reliable by far.
Here is a video of my Beetleweight, Utopia, using tinyESCs to power B16 drive motors with the hotter B62 motors running on 4S lipo (14.8V):

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=R3YmVqlBQgU

Utopia is currently ranked #1 in the Robot Fighting League using FingerTech TinyESC's.


Sooo Small!

- 14th December 2009

There are so many benefits to these tinyESCs. Not only do they save weight due to only weighing 4 grams each, but they allow a much smaller robot.
I've used a pair to run 4 22:1 16mm Silver Spark gearmotors on 3S lipo in a 3lb robot with good results.
I've also run B16 beetleweight sized motors (sold by Robotmarketplace.com) on 3S and 4S lipo in a 4WD 3 lb robot with no issues at all.


Great lightweight ESC

- 31st July 2009

I have used these on my past 3 antweight robots. In all of them, I was VERY tight on space. These tucked away into little nooks that no other ESC would have fit. I even used motors from a beetle weight at double the normal voltage, and the TinyESC's worked splendidly. The only downside is that they're independent channels and don't provide mixing, but that's not too much of a problem.

Add very little weight

- 31st July 2009

I have used these on my past 3 antweight robots. In all of them, I was VERY tight on space. These tucked away into little nooks that no other ESC would have fit. I even used motors from a beetle weight at double the normal voltage, and the TinyESC's worked splendidly. The only downside is that they're independent channels and don't provide mixing, but that's not too much of a problem.

Can't beat their size!

- 22nd July 2009

These little.. er, tiny ESCs worked great in my antweight battlebot. To have two controllers running your two drive motors for under 8 grams once you shorten the wires, you can't beat it! And they're so small you can shove 'em wherever. The bright red and green LEDs make it easy to tell what's going on, and their output is reliable. Great little ESC. And the customer service is excellent! Thanks!

Work well and are tiny!

- 12th July 2009

After using larger electronics it is very nice to just tuck these away in the corner of my bot and not have to worry about trying to fit the rest of my parts in.

Niiice and Small

- 15th June 2009

They worked well in my 1 pound robot.
It was easy to shorten the wires. simply cut back the heat shrink half way on the JR connector side and resolder the wires. Also I suggest a tiny piece of heatshrink around the cut back part afterwards. Working well and I will continue to use them.


Click to review this product

Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional
Home - Products - How-To - Shopping Cart - FAQ - About Us - Contact Us - Affiliates
Client Login - Terms & Conditions - Privacy Policy - Site Map