FingerTech Lite Hubs (pair) Reviews for the product - FingerTech Lite Hubs (pair) (Back to product)
 
 
9 Product Reviews - Average rating 4.3 / 5 (Best Rated | Worst Rated | Most Recent | Oldest)

Click to review this product

Excellent Product!

- 07th April 2009

I've always made my own wheel hubs in the past, but these are cheap and easier so I bought a few sets.

Easy Way To Mount Lite Flite/Lectra Lite Wheels

- 15th February 2010

For weight savings, I switched back to Lectra Lite wheels (also sold at FingerTech Robotics) on my antweight robot. I used FingerTech Lite Hubs to mount the wheels. They work much better than simply gluing the wheels to the motor shafts, and are much less permanent than glue too. They stayed tight for the whole event including a 3 minute rumble and demo.
Here is a video of my antweight, Metroid, using FingerTech Lite Hubs:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=glQQLmEagPE


These are the answer to your wheel mounting woes!

- 27th September 2009

I have attempted to make my own wheel hubs in the past and they've... -worked-, you might say, but never been true.

Now that I've tried these, I am never going back do-it-yourself way.

Just a dab of CA glue to hold these wondrous things in the wheel and you're set!

Note:

Do not tighten the setscrew as tight as you would one on a weapon-pulley; that kind of force is entirely unnecessary, and doing so will strip the threads in the nylon.


Great Hubs for Small 'Bots

- 22nd July 2010

These are excellent hubs for attaching the lite flites or lectra lites to 3mm shafts in ant and fairy robots. They're much lighter than the metal Dave's hub while still being solid enough, and a much more reliable method of attaching wheels than gluing them straight to the shaft.

Highly recommended!


Works amazing with Sparks!

- 14th May 2011

I've tried several different ways to get wheels onto ant drive motors and these are a very good (and cheap!) solution. I've tried everything from airplane prop adapters to ca glue and these work the best by far!

My only complaint is that when these are mated to micro "Sanyo" style gear-motors they require a second set screw and some trial and error to get everything squared up.


Fingertech Lite Hubs

- 13th May 2011

Excellent hubs for the Lite Flight wheels. My only complaint is that I had to go out and get a set of even smaller allen wrenches to tighten down the hub nut. Other than that, and that the wheels need to be glued, these are awesome for the price.
[We sell individual hex wrenches too! -FingerTech]


FingerTech Lite Hubs (pair)

- 18th February 2010

These hubs are amazing. They worked so well during an ant-weight competition of mine. They are also very light, so when weighing in the robot, the hubs helped out a lot.
Price-wise compared to the more expensive aluminum hubs, these hubs rock... But then again aluminum IS WELL aluminum... better than plastic.

The only problem with these is there is no way to attach the wheel onto the Lite Hub without using some sort of adhesive. So these hubs are a one-shot deal. Buy like 2 or 3 pairs and several sets of wheels for ant-weight competitions.

PROS: very light. works well, doesn't fall off during competition.

CONS: Need adhesive to attach wheel.


Good, Light Option for Insect Bots

- 09th September 2013

I used the Lite Hubs mated to a pair of 1.5" Lectra Flites. After drilling out the bore of the Lectra Flites, I was able to press on the Lite Hubs without needing any adhesive. During competition, the wheels stayed on and although they didn't take any direct spinner hits, I was confident enough in the strength of the Lite Hubs that I skipped wheel guards (and also that I had no weight for wheel guards).

However, I do notice that there is wobble in the hub/wheel when it is spinning. I'm not sure whether this stems from the boring job I did on the drill press, and although it didn't heavily affect performance, it is definitely noticeable. Also, I managed to crush one of the Lite Hubs when I was rather forcefully pressing them into the bored out Lectra Flites.


They are ok.

- 24th April 2019

Work pretty good, my only complaint is that they are made out of plastic. If they were made out of metal I would give them five stars.

Click to review this product


Shopping cart  Shopping cart
0 Product(s) in cart
Total 0.00 CAD
» Checkout
Login Status  Login Status

Not logged in

» Login

credit cards